Mel Allen Media Award

The Mel Allen Award was created to honor Media Members in the State who have made a lifetime contribution to sports through their work as a media member. The Award is named after 1974 Hall of Fame Inductee Mel Allen from Birmingham who was known as the "Voice of the New York Yankees" for two decades; as well as narrated a weekly thirty minute television show in the 1960; and 1970s called "This Week in Major League Baseball."

Previous Winners:

Ron Ingram 2018

A picture of Ingram

Tom Roberts 2015

A picture of Roberts

John Pruett 2014

A picture of Pruett

George Smith 2014

A picture of Smith