BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Board of Directors of the State of Alabama Sports Hall of Fame is proud to announce that Gene Hallman will be recognized as the 2022 Distinguished American Sportsman at the State of Alabama Sports Hall of Fame 54th Annual Induction Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, May 7, 2022.

Gene Hallman is CEO and Owner of Bruno Event Team which was formed in 1995. Bruno Event Team, based in Birmingham, Alabama, has grown into one of the country’s largest dedicated sports event management companies with more than 80 employees located in nine offices throughout the United States and Bermuda. Hallman is also CEO of both ZOOM Motorsports and Bruno Hospitality (catering), and Bruno Event Team serves as the event management team for the Alabama Sports Council.  

Hallman’s company has managed a wide variety of events including major golf tournaments on all major tours – PGA TOUR, PGA TOUR Champions, Korn Ferry Tour, and LPGA. Additionally, Hallman has overseen the management of more than 20 USGA national championships (U.S. Senior and Women’s Opens and Walker Cup), 1996 Olympic Soccer at Legion Field,  2004 Olympic Marathon Trials, SEC Baseball Tournament, Magic City Classic, SWAC Football Championship, Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama, Davis and Fed Cups (tennis), The World Games 2022, and the management of the football gameday operations for the University of Alabama, Auburn University, UAB and Alabama State University. Hallman’s first golf event, the Regions Tradition, will celebrate its 30th anniversary in 2022 having raised more than $20 million for Alabama charities.

Hallman joins an impressive list of others who have been honored as Alabama Sports Hall of Fame Distinguished American Sportsmen. They are: Bob Hope (1988), Hugh Culverhouse (1991), Former President George H.W. Bush (1992), Charles O. Finley (1993), Larry D. Striplin, Jr. (1998), Bill Ireland (2000), Roy Kramer (2003), Jim Wilson, Jr. (2005), Michael E. Stephens (2006), Joseph Gibbs (2008), Nick Bollettieri (2009), Rick Woodward (2010), Don Logan (2011), Ron Froehlich (2015), Mike Slive (2015), Edgar Welden (2016), Pete Derzis (2017), Jimmy Rane (2018), Daniel Moore (2019), Robbie Robertson (2020), Angus R. Cooper II (2021), and John McMahon, Jr. (2021).

The 54th Annual Induction Banquet and Ceremony will be held in the Birmingham Ballroom, at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel, on Saturday, May 7, 2022. For more information or to purchase tickets, please contact the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame Museum at (205) 323-6665.